Barnsley

Match Reports…

Barnsley 2-0 Nottingham Forest – https://thefootballfansview.com/2020/11/21/barnsley-vs-nottingham-forest-match-report/

Barnsley 0-1 Brentford – https://thefootballfansview.com/2020/11/24/barnsley-vs-brentford-match-report/

Blackburn 2-1 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2020/11/28/blackburn-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Birmingham 1-2 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2020/12/01/birmingham-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Barnsley 0-4 Bournemouth – https://thefootballfansview.com/2020/12/04/barnsley-vs-afc-bournemouth-match-report/

Barnsley 2-1 Wycombe – https://thefootballfansview.com/2020/12/09/barnsley-vs-wycombe-match-report/

Sheffield Wednesday 1-2 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2020/12/12/sheffield-wednesday-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Barnsley 2-1 Preston North End – https://thefootballfansview.com/2020/12/15/barnsley-vs-preston-north-end-match-report/

Swansea 2-0 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2020/12/19/swansea-city-vs-barnsley-match-report/ 

Barnsley 2-1 Huddersfield – https://thefootballfansview.com/2020/12/26/barnsley-vs-huddersfield-town-match-report/

Rotherham United 1-2 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2020/12/29/rotherham-united-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Norwich City 1-0 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/01/02/norwich-city-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Barnsley 0-2 Swansea City – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/01/16/barnsley-vs-swansea-city-match-report/

Watford 1-0 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/01/19/watford-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Barnsley 2-2 Cardiff City – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/01/27/barnsley-vs-cardiff-city-match-report/

Nottingham Forest 0-0 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/01/30/nottingham-forest-vs-barnsley-match-report-2/

FA CUP – Barnsley 0-1 Chelsea – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/02/11/barnsley-vs-chelsea-fa-cup-match-report/

Barnsley 2-1 Blackburn Rovers – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/02/17/barnsley-vs-blackburn-rovers-match-report-2/

Bristol City 0-1 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/02/21/bristol-city-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Barnsley 2-0 Stoke City – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/02/24/barnsley-vs-stoke-city-match-report-2/

Barnsley 2-1 Millwall – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/02/27/barnsley-vs-millwall-match-report/

QPR 1-3 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/03/03/qpr-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Barnsley 1-0 Birmingham City – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/03/06/barnsley-vs-birmingham-city-match-report/

Barnsley 0-0 Derby County – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/03/10/barnsley-vs-derby-county-match-report/

AFC Bournemouth 2-3 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/03/13/afc-bournemouth-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Wycombe Wanderers 1-3 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/03/17/wycombe-wanderers-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Barnsley 1-2 Sheffield Wednesday – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/03/20/barnsley-vs-sheffield-wednesday-match-report/

Luton Town 1-2 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/04/05/luton-town-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Barnsley 2-0 Boro – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/04/10/barnsley-vs-middlesbrough-match-report/

Coventry City 2-0 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/04/18/coventry-city-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Huddersfield Town 0-1 Barnsley – https://thefootballfansview.com/2021/04/21/huddersfield-town-vs-barnsley-match-report/

Factfile:

Nickname: The Tykes

Founded: 1887

Manager: Valérien Ismaël

Stadium: Oakwell

Current league position: 6th

Last season’s finish: 21st

Current top scorer: Cauley Woodrow (13 goals in all competitions)

FFV’s one for the future: Callum Styles

INTRODUCTION…

The team that has spent more seasons than any other in England’s second division, Barnsley are usually a true second tier staple.

They can boast just one Premier League season which came in the 1997/1998 season. Many of the late 2000s and early 2010s saw Barnsley scraping survival most of the time in the second tier.

Much more recently, Barnsley have become somewhat of a Yo-Yo side bouncing between the Championship and League One. This has seen some recent success trophy wise with two promotions and a JPT Trophy win all coming within the last five seasons.

There has been some optimism around the club over the last few years following the arrival of a mega-rich consortium headed Chien Lee and Billy Beane who the film Moneyball was made about.

This optimism has not yet transpired into much Championship success as of yet, but many fans are still hopeful of big things to come. Going into this season, many were tipping the Reds for a comfortable mid-table finish following a great escape last season with Gerhard Struber at the helm.

However, a few bad results early in the season before the departure of Struber to New York Red Bulls soon looked to see another relegation battle. However, some shrewd additions towards the end of the window and three wins from the last four games under new Head Coach Valérien Ismaël has seen Barnsley move back away from the danger zone and up towards mid-table security.

 

%d bloggers like this: