Barrow AFC

Match Reports…

We don’t currently have a correspondent for this team. Email or message @FootieFansView on Twitter to get involved


Nickname: The Bluebirds

Founded: 1901

Manager: Michael Jolley

Stadium: Holker Street

Current league position: 22nd

Last season’s finish: 1st (Vanarama National League Winners)

Current top scorer: Scott Quigley (Six goals in all competitions)

FFV’s one for the future: Callum Gribbin


Having initially played in the Lancashire Combination, Barrow joined the Football League in 1921. They remained in the bottom level of the competition until 1967, when they achieved promotion to the Third Division by finishing third in the Fourth Division.

The club’s highest league placing was in 1967–68, when they finished eighth in the Third Division. They declined quickly, however, and at the end of the 1971–72 season Barrow were voted out of the Football League in the re-election process.

They then spent 48 seasons in the top two levels of non-league football, with five relegations from – and promotions to – the Alliance Premier League (later the Football Conference and the National League), of which they were a founding member in 1979.

Barrow won the FA Trophy (non-league football’s most prestigious cup competition) in 1990 and 2010. They returned to the Football League as National League champions in 2020.

%d bloggers like this: