Crewe Alexandra


Nickname: The Railwaymen

Founded: 1877

Manager: David Artell

Stadium: The Alexandra Stadium

Current league position: 11th

Last season’s finish: 2nd (League Two Runners-Up)

Current top scorer: Mikael Mandron

FFV’s one for the future: Harry Pickering


Founded in 1877, Crewe Alexandra is one of the oldest EFL clubs in Britain; experiencing many highs and lows during its history.

From the trauma of re-election to the high of promotion to the EFL Championship in 1997, Crewe Alexandra has an established and proud history as a club that often ‘punches above its weight’.

The Football Club has developed a well renowned youth Academy that has produced a number of full international players such as former England captain David Platt, Dean Ashton, Danny Murphy and Seth Johnson and generated over £25 million in transfer revenue.

Crewe Alexandra continues to nurture young talent and provide them with an opportunity to play first-team football. Our objective is to produce talented, skilful footballers, as well as disciplined and respectful men both on-and-off the pitch.

Despite having to sell playing assets to survive, Crewe Alexandra reached the Championship for a period of eight seasons and always strives to play at the highest level possible.

The year 2012 saw the club promoted back to League One via the play-offs and a year later winning the Football League Trophy (Johnstone’s Paint Trophy) for the first time in the club’s history, while establishing themselves in League One.


%d bloggers like this: