Fleetwood Town

Match Reports…

We don’t currently have a correspondent for this team. Email or message @FootieFansView on Twitter to get involved


Nickname: Cod Army

Founded: 1908

Manager: Simon Grayson

Stadium: Highbury Stadium

Current league position: 15th

Last season’s finish: 6th (League One Play-Off Semi-Finalists)

Current top scorer: Callum Camps (9 goals in all competitions)

FFV’s one for the future: James Hill


The original club founded in 1908 were known simply as Fleetwood and won the Lancashire Combination in the 1923–24 season, though would resign from the league in February 1928 due to financial difficulties.

Fleetwood Windsor Villa took their place in the Lancashire Combination and won three Lancashire Combination Cups in 1933, 1934 and 1935. The club became founder members of the newly created Northern Premier League in 1968, though folded in 1976 and reformed the following year as Fleetwood Town.

They initially competed in the Cheshire County League and then joined the North West Counties League in 1982. They were promoted as First Division champions in 1983–84 and reached the final of the FA Vase in the 1984-85 season. However, this incarnation of the club also folded in 1997.

The current incarnation of the club came into existence as Fleetwood Wanderers in 1997 and won the North West Counties League First Division title in 1998–99.

They changed their name to Fleetwood Town in 2002 and were taken over by Andrew Pilley two years later, who would transform the club’s fortunes with significant financial investments.

Fleetwood won the North West Counties League Premier Division title in 2004–05, promotion out of the Northern Premier League First Division in 2005–06, the Northern Premier League Premier Division title in 2007–08 and the Conference North play-offs in 2010.

Fleetwood won the Conference National title in 2011–12 to secure a place in the Football League for the first time. In May 2014, Fleetwood beat Burton Albion at Wembley in the League Two play-off final to gain promotion League One; the club’s sixth promotion in ten years.

Credit: Fleetwood Town FC
%d bloggers like this: