Huddersfield Town


Nickname: The Terriers

Founded: 1908

Head Coach: Carlos Corberan

Stadium: The John Smith’s Stadium

Current league position: 17th

Last season’s finish: 18th

Current top scorer: Fraizer Campbell (7 goals in all competitions)

FFV’s one for the future: Lewis O’Brien


Huddersfield Town were founded in 1908 and joined the football league two years later in 1910. In 1922 Town won the first of three successive top flight titles, a feat that has been matched but never beaten by English Footballs current elite.

The first two title wins were masterminded by legendary manager Herbert Chapman before the hat-trick was rounded off by Cecil Potter. During the 1920s, Town also won an FA Cup and the FA Charity Shield in a period that saw them viewed as one of the best teams in world football.

Following the end of the second world war, Huddersfield Town declined in stature and found themselves as low down as the old Fourth Division by 1975. In 1978 the Town board would appoint Mick Buxton as a manager, during an eight-year spell Buxton would lead Town from the fourth division back to the second division, before eventually being sacked.

Town flirted with the bottom three divisions for the next thirty years, with managers such as Steve Bruce and Lee Clarke failing to return Town to the top flight, with Bruce’s expensive yet short spell as manager almost ending in liquidation for Town.

Things changed for Town in November 2015, when Chairman Dean Hoyle appointed German-American head coach David Wagner and his assistant Christoph Buhler. Wagner and Buhler would set about rebuilding the club from top to bottom alongside Director of Football Stuart Webber.

In the summer of 2016 they signed thirteen new players including Australian Midfielder Aaron Mooy and German Defender Christopher Schindler. Whilst improving players already at the club such as Jonathan Hogg and Tommy Smith.

After a miracle season, Town finally clinched promotion back to the top flight in 2017. Wagner and Buhler again set about building a squad, this time without the assistance of Stuart Webber, bringing in eight new first-team players including Jonas Lossl, Zanka and Steve Mounie. Town fought all season and eventually secured survival with a 1-1 draw with Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.

Town’s second season however, was a disaster, summer signings failed to work out whilst a switch in tactics failed to produce performances from a seriously unprepared squad. Wagner and Buhler left by mutual consent in January to be replaced by German manager Jan Siewert.

However, he was unable to keep Town up and was dismissed by new owner Phil Hodgkinson just four games into the 2019/20 season, with Town sat joint bottom of the Championship. Danny Cowley and his brother Nicky were then appointed with the club promising financial backing for the pair and offering them the chance to create a long term legacy at the club with the long term aim being set on a return to the Premier League.

Despite several impressive results and securing Town’s Championship status with a game to spare, the pair were dismissed for reasons currently unknown, they were replaced by former Leeds academy manager Carlos Corberan whilst former Town academy manager Leigh Bromby became Head of Football Operations. Paving the way for the Spanish Revolution to begin…

The Huddersfield Town Club Badge between 2008 and 2019.

%d bloggers like this: