Leicester City


Nickname: The Foxes

Founded: 1884

Manager: Brendan Rodgers

Stadium: King Power Stadium

Current league position: 3rd

Last season’s finish: 5th

Current top scorer: Jamie Vardy (13 goals in all competitions)

FFV’s one for the future: Harvey Barnes


The club competes in the Premier League, the top division of England’s football league system, and plays its home matches at the King Power Stadium.

The club was founded in 1884 as Leicester Fosse, playing on a field near Fosse Road.

They moved to Filbert Street in 1891, were elected to the Football League in 1894 and adopted the name Leicester City in 1919. They moved to the nearby Walkers Stadium in 2002, which was renamed the King Power Stadium in 2011.

Leicester hold a joint-record seven second-tier titles and have been to four FA Cup finals; the only major English competition the club is yet to win.

They have won the League Cup three times and in 2015–16 Leicester won their first top division title. They are one of only seven clubs to have won the Premier League since its inception in 1992.

A number of newspapers described Leicester’s 2015–16 title win as the greatest sporting shock ever; multiple bookmakers had never paid out at such long odds for any sport. The club’s previous highest finish was second place in the top flight, in 1928–29, then known as the First Division.

Credit: Leicester City
%d bloggers like this: