Nickname: The Boro

Founded: 1876

Manager: Neil Warnock

Stadium: Riverside Stadium

Current league position: 7th

Last season’s finish: 17th

Current top scorer: Duncan Watmore and Britt Assombalonga (5 goals in acll competitions)

FFV’s one for the future: Paddy McNair


Middlesbrough were one of the founding members of the Premier League in 1992 and became one of the first clubs to be relegated from it following the 1992–93 season.

The club came close to folding in 1986 after experiencing severe financial difficulties before it was saved by a consortium led by then board member and later chairman Steve Gibson. The club’s main rivals are Sunderland, Newcastle United and Leeds United.

The club’s achievements include winning the League Cup in 2004, their first and to date only major trophy, and they also reached the 2006 UEFA Cup Final, losing to Spanish club Sevilla.

Their highest league finish to date was third place in the top flight in the 1913–14 season and the club have only spent two seasons outside the top two divisions of English football.

The League Cup win and the UEFA Cup run was part of an 11-year consecutive stay in the Premier League, before a relegation in 2009. Although the club returned in 2016, instant relegation followed.

Credit: Middlesbrough FC
%d bloggers like this: