Match Reports…

We don’t currently have a correspondent for this team. Email or message @FootieFansView on Twitter to get involved


Nickname: Pompey

Founded: 1898

Manager: Kenny Jackett

Stadium: Fratton Park

Current league position: 5th

Last season’s finish: 5th (League One Play-Off Semi-Finalists)

Current top scorer: John Marquis (12 goals in all competitions)

FFV’s one for the future: Haji Mnoga


Portsmouth have been the top tier League Champions of England twice; in the consecutive 1948–49 and 1949–50 seasons.

Portsmouth have also won the FA Cup twice; in 1939 and 2008, the FA Charity Shield once in 1949 and the EFL Trophy once in 2019. The EFL Cup is the only major domestic cup competition that Portsmouth has yet to win.

Portsmouth have also won the second-tier division title once in 2002–03, the third tier division title three times in 1923–24 (South), 1961–62, 1982–83 and the fourth tier division title once in 2016–17.

Before their election into the national English Football League in 1920, Portsmouth were also champions of the regional Southern Football League in 1901–02 and 1919–20.

Portsmouth were also champions of the Western Football League in 1900–01, 1901–02 and 1902–03. These, and their more recent wins, make Portsmouth southern England’s most successful club (in terms of cups, honours and titles) outside of London.

After earning promotion from the Second Division (as runners-up) in the 1926-27 season, Portsmouth became the first football club south of London to reach the First Division, the top tier of professional English football. This level was not achieved by other southern clubs, such as Southampton until 1966, Brighton & Hove Albion in 1979, or AFC Bournemouth until 2015.

As a consequence of their 1927 promotion to Division One, Portsmouth also became the first professional football club in English Football League history to be promoted through three professional divisions; from the Third Division (1920-21 to 1923-24 (South)), to the Second Division (1924-25 to 1926-27) and reaching the First Division for the 1927-28 season.

Portsmouth remained in the First Division for a further 32 years (including WW2), winning two successive League Championship titles (1948-49 and 1949-50) until relegation to the Second Division at the end of the 1958-59 season.

Portsmouth have played in European competition for only one season in their history, the 2008–09 UEFA Cup (now UEFA Europa League), a result of winning the 2008 FA Cup Final.

Portsmouth’s most recent period in the top tier of English football was between 2003 and 2010 when the club spent seven consecutive seasons in the Premier League.

The club’s fortunes declined in 2010–13 when the club entered financial administration twice and were relegated three times, dropping to the fourth tier (EFL League Two) and their lowest point since the 1979–80 season.

Portsmouth have played in the top tier of English football for three periods in their history; the first being a 32-year-long period from 1927 until 1959, the second period for a single season during 1987-88 and the most recent for seven consecutive seasons between 2003 and 2010.

The club were saved in 2013 from High Court liquidation after being bought out by the fan-owned Pompey Supporters Trust (PST) on 10 April 2013.

 This made Portsmouth the largest fan-owned football club in England until 3 August 2017, when the PST sold it to The Tornante Company, an investment company owned by former Disney CEO Michael Eisner.

Credit: Portsmouth FC
%d bloggers like this: