Shrewsbury Town

Match Reports…

We don’t currently have a correspondent for this team. Email or message @FootieFansView on Twitter to get involved


Nickname: The Shrews, Salop, Town, The Blues

Founded: 1886

Manager: Steve Cotterill

Stadium: New Meadow

Current league position: 17th

Last season’s finish: 15th

Current top scorer: Shaun Whalley (5 goals in all competitions)

FFV’s one for the future: Harry Chapman


Founded in 1886, the club were inaugural members of the Shropshire & District League in 1890 and then joined the Birmingham & District League five years later.

Crowned champions in 1922–23, they switched to the Midland League in 1937 and won the Midland League title in 1937–38, 1945–46 and 1947–48.

Shrewsbury were admitted into the Football League in 1950 and won promotion out of the Fourth Division at the end of the 1958–59 season.

They were promoted again in 1974–75 after being relegated the previous year, and went on to win the Third Division title in 1978–79.

They returned to the fourth tier following relegations in 1989 and 1992, where they won another league title in 1993–94. The club lost in the 1996 Football League Trophy final and dropped into non-League football after suffering relegations in 1997 and 2003.

Shrewsbury immediately regained their Football League status after winning the 2004 Conference play-off final. They lost League Two play-off finals in 2007 and 2009 before they won automatic promotion in 2011–12 and again in 2014–15 after relegation the previous season.

They finished as runners-up in the 2018 EFL Trophy final and 2018 League One play-off final.

Credit: Shrewsbury Town FC
%d bloggers like this: