Wigan Athletic

Match Reports…

We don’t currently have a correspondent for this team. Email or message @FootieFansView on Twitter to get involved


Nickname: The Latics, The Tics

Founded: 1932

Manager: Leam Richardson (interim)

Stadium: DW Stadium

Current league position: 23rd

Last season’s finish: 23rd (Relegated from the Championship)

Current top scorer: Joe Garner (6 goals in all competitions)

FFV’s one for the future: Kyle Joseph


Wigan competed in the Cheshire County League for the first nine seasons of the club’s existence, winning three league title before being placed in the Lancashire Combination in 1947.

They spent 14 years in the Lancashire Combination and secured four league titles during this time. They spent 1961 to 1968 back in the Cheshire County League, picking up another league title in 1964–65.

Invited to become founder members of the Northern Premier League in 1968, they won two league titles and also reached the FA Trophy final in 1973.

Wigan were elected to the Football League in 1978 and were promoted out of Fourth Division in 1981–82. Wigan won the Associate Members’ Cup in 1985, but were relegated back into the fourth tier in 1993.

They won the Third Division title in 1996–97, the Football League Trophy in 1999 and the Second Division in 2002–03, before securing promotion out of the Championship in 2004–05.

Wigan were beaten finalists in the League Cup in 2006 and won the FA Cup in 2013, beating Manchester City in the final. However, they were relegated later in the year, bringing their eight-season stay in the Premier League to an end.

The FA Cup success did though gain them a place in the UEFA Europa League group stages the following season. Relegated from the Championship in 2015, they won the League One title in 2015–16 and repeated this feat in 2017–18 after another relegation.

On 1 July 2020, less than a month after a change of ownership, the club were placed into administration and were relegated from the Championship due to the subsequent points deduction.

Credit: Sky News
%d bloggers like this: